SWIMS Network and SWIMS System
You are here: SWIMS > Modules > Cataloguing > Protected: Cataloguing bibliographic records > Deleting bibliographic and copy records

Deleting bibliographic and copy records

If a bibliographic record has copy records attached, the copy records need to be deleted before the bibliographic record can be deleted.

Deleting copy records

Deleting bibliographic records

Deleting copy and bibliographic records together

 

Document icon Document: How to delete bibliographic and copy records

 

 


 

Deleting single copy records

There are a couple of ways to delete an individual copy record:

AFO121 – scan the barcode of the item to remove that copy

AFO111 – search for the title of the book, then drill down to the item detail screen. From this screen, click on the Delete Item Detail icon:

Deleting item screenshot

 

Once deleted, the list of shelfmarks screen will display, showing 0 copies. This shelfmark also needs to be deleted by selecting the tick box next to your entry and clicking on the Delete No icon.

Delete item shelfmark screenshot

 

Once the shelfmark is deleted, you will be taken back to the full record screen. At this point, delete the bibliographic record too, if appropriate, by clicking on the Delete Record icon.

 


 

Deleting multiple copies

The easiest way to delete multiple copies is to create an item savelist i.e. a listing of all the individual item records you wish to delete. Make sure that these item records are for your location only!

Once created, click onto the savelist then click on the Global Delete icon. 

Global delete from savelist screenshot 

 

Click OK when asked if you want to delete them all. Select batch mode if you want to delete them in the background whilst you carry on with other tasks on Infor, or Online mode if you’re happy for it to lock V-smart while it performs the delete. If you are only deleting a few items, online mode is fine, but we would recommend using batch mode if deleting 50 or more items.

 


 

Deleting single bibliographic records

AFO111 – search for the title of the book and select the relevant item. When on the full record screen, click on the Delete Record icon (NB. it will be greyed out if item records are still attached):

Delete bibliographic record screenshot

 


 

Deleting multiple bibliographic records

The easiest way to delete multiple copies is to create an bibliographic description savelist i.e. a listing of all the individual bibliographic records you wish to delete. Make sure that these bibliographic records do not have copy records attached or they will not delete.

Once created, click onto the savelist then click on the Global Delete icon. 

Global delete bib records screenshot

 


 

Deleting multiple copy and bibliographic records

The easiest way to delete multiple copy records and their associated bibliographic records is to create savelists. 

In AFO141, create an items savelist of all the copy records to be deleted. Place a tick next to the items savelist, then click on the Copy Savelist icon:

Copy items savelist screenshot

 

On the next screen, give the savelist a name (all one word), select your own name under to user, and select Bibliographic Descriptions as the application:

Copy savelist settings screenshot

 

Open the items savelist then click on the Global Delete icon. 

Global delete from savelist screenshot 

 

Click OK when asked if you want to delete them all. Select batch mode if you want to delete them in the background whilst you carry on with other tasks on Infor, or Online mode if you’re happy for it to lock V-smart while it performs the delete. If you are only deleting a few items, online mode is fine, but we would recommend using batch mode if deleting 50 or more items.

Next, open the bibliographic descriptions savelist and click on the Global Delete icon. Click OK when asked if you want to delete them all. Select batch mode if you want to delete them in the background whilst you carry on with other tasks on Infor, or Online mode if you’re happy for it to lock V-smart while it performs the delete. If you are only deleting a few items, online mode is fine, but we would recommend using batch mode if deleting 50 or more items.